glew version 1.5.4 for mingw32

I was really suprised that the official glew website was not giving directly a compiled version of glew for mingw. So here they are:

http://www.mediafire.com/?20tlnt0eytt

For those who want to know my workflow:
– download glew and edit the config/Makefile.mingw to have unix end of line
– download the Qt SDK to have a mingw32 distribution
– download cygwin to have a bash
– open a cygwin bash and do these commands (edit to your needs):
# go to your glew folder
cd /cygdrive/c/Users/Julian\ Ibarz/code/glew-1.5.4
# set in the path your mingw distribution
export PATH=$PATH:/cygdrive/c/Qt/2010.02.1/mingw/bin/
# compile glew
mingw32-make SYSTEM=mingw

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to glew version 1.5.4 for mingw32

  1. RCL says:

    Thanks! That was exactly what I looked for. And I’m also surprised why GLEW does not ship mingw libs…

  2. Dan says:

    Thank you, 80% of my link errors just went away 🙂

  3. Dudu says:

    Thanks, I didn’t know there was compatibility problems when linking .lib files, apparently they work only with visual studio compiler.

    Good I can finally get a “finished building” on eclipse.

Leave a comment